Skip to Content

Press Releases

IoT Working Group Releases Report on Activities in the 114th Congress

The House Energy and Commerce Committee’s Internet of Things (IoT) Working Group, co-chaired by Congressman Bob Latta (R-OH) and Congressman Peter Welch (D-VT), has released a report detailing findings they gathered during the 114th Congress. The white paper summarizes the activities of the working group. The IoT Working Group met with technology experts, key stakeholders, and leaders in a number of industries to discuss the benefits and challenges of implementing IoT and the role of the Federal government in advancing the new technology. The report can be viewed here.

“Through discussions with technology experts and leaders in a number of different sectors, it’s clear that the Internet of Things is changing how businesses gather and use information to be more efficient, effective, and safe,” said Latta. “The IoT Working Group’s activities in the 114th Congress will help develop the foundation for a thoughtful public policy approach to IoT going forward, including the role that the Federal government should play in advancing new technologies.”

“The Internet of Things is having a growing impact on our economy, communities, and our lives,” said Welch. “This report highlights our group’s important efforts to inform Members of the opportunities and challenges presented by this emerging technology. I’m looking forward to building upon this work in the new Congress.”   

Members of the IoT working group included Rep. John Shimkus (R-IL), Rep. Pete Olson (R-TX), Rep. Larry Bucshon, (R-IN), Rep. Renee Ellmers (R-NC), Rep. Leonard Lance (R-NJ), Rep. Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Rep. Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC), Rep. Chris Collins (R-NY), Rep. Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY), Rep. David Loebsack (D-IA), Rep. John Yarmuth (D-KY), Rep. Gene Green (D-TX), Rep. Paul Tonko (D-NY), Rep. Jerry McNerney (D-CA), and Rep. Bobby Rush (D-IL).

The IoT Working Group was launched in May of last year by the House Energy and Commerce Committee.

Back to top